Writing, Kitchen Demolition, and Link to a Post on Self-Doubt

It’s March 1, and I haven’t posted since Valentine’s Day. Yikes!!

What have I been doing? Well, Facebooking, Twittering and Tweeting, writing (thank goodness), and watching my husband play demolition derby with our kitchen. Yes, we are in kitchen remodel H-e-double hockey sticks! We have decided to be our own contractor in order to better afford the things I want. So far so good. I’m holding up well under the duress of watching my guy swing hammers, pry bars and sledge hammers! I know it’s tough but someone has to be responsible for flunky duty i.e: tea fixin’, sweeping and being ready to dial 9-1-1. I’m doing pretty good on all but the 9-1-1 thing. There was an accident the other day involving the removal of a counter top, a pry bar and two rusty nails. I was running errands at the time, so the poor man had to drive himself to the ER for xrays and stitches!! He laughed when he said he wouldn’t fire me, but I think I should lay low for a day or so, just in case. Hahaha!

So this post isn’t a complete loss, I want to share a link to someone elses post that spoke to me about the doubt I sometimes feel toward my chosen career of writing.
Eugene Cross, author of a short story collection, Fires of Our Choosing, to be published March 2012, by DZANC Books, talked in his post on Glimmer Train, how our doubts keep us from doing our hearts desire. He says our constant rewriting and trying to always better our work isn’t doubt of our ability, but “a positive sign that the work we have chosen as our life’s calling is actually the work we were meant to do”. Please check out his complete post at: http://www.glimmertrain.com/b62cross.html .
I do hope you’ll visit the link and stop back by here for future posts. Thanks to all readers and followers!

Standing at the ready…Carra

About Carra Copelin

I am a sixth generation Texan and member of the Daughters of the Republic of Texas. Living in the heart of the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex, I write contemporary and historical romance. Current works in progress include the Texas Code Series. I am a member of RWA and Yellow Rose RWA.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

